My EDC

How I determine what I carry

My philosophy is a loose one, and it's always a tension between minimizing space and the expected utility of an item. The three (four?) questions I ask myself are as follows: "Will I use this every day?", "If I won't use it everyday, is it still vital to have immediately accessible in the event that it is needed?", "Do I have space for it in my pockets? If not, how can I make space?"

What I carry

Excluding my car keys and the phone I used to take this picture with (iPhone 11 Pro), these are the privileged items I always have with me:
From left to right:
  1. Really, the Special Edition was a waste of money. The only real advantage over the regular edition was the NFC payments, which is a pain to use and only works with Fitbit Pay. However, I do like the watch face, and I have added a couple charms to replace my standard Cryonics medical bracelet. I use it for sleep tracking, exercise tracking, and of course to tell the time or set a timer in a pinch.
  2. This is easily one of my top five best frivolous purchases. As with all Swiss Army knives, each tool is strictly inferior to a dedicated tool of the same, but it gets me 80% of the functionality for far less than 20% of the space. It has a flashlight too! Although I prefer my phone flashlight.
  3. Just to keep myself fresh for any face to face conversations.
  4. I have never had to use this, thankfully, but if I ever find myself in need of it, it will be vital to have at-hand.
  5. I love this thing. It easily fits 7 cards, with room to spare, and when you push the cards out you can fan them in order to get the individual one you need. (What you don't see is a 'Tile' wallet bluetooth tracker slid into it.)

My next Life Hack post will be about my Expanded Inventory (my backpack).

comments powered by Disqus